Prof. Anupam Varma

Anupam Varma, born in Delhi in 1940, graduated from the University of Allahabad in 1959 and obtained M.Sc. degree in Botany from the same University in 1961. In 1964 he went to Rothamsted Experimental Station, UK under Commonwealth Fellowship Programme for higher studies. After obtaining Ph.D. degree from London University in 1967, he Joined the Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi.  Since then he has been working at the same Institute in varying capacities as Senior virologist (1968-75), Principal virologist (1975-84), Professor of Virology (1984 86), Professor of Plant Pathology (1986-88), Head, Division of Plant Pathology (1988-95),  Dean, Post Graduate School (1995-2000).  National Professor ICAR (2000-2005) and INSA Senior Scientist (2005 onwards). From 1979 to 1981 he worked with the FAO of the United Nations for developing a National Horticultural Research Institute, Ibadan, Nigeria. He has been a Visiting Scientist at the Australian National University, Canberra, Scottish Crop Research Institute, Dundee, UK,  and  INRA, Bordeaux, France.

Prof. Varma has made important contributions to fundamental and applied aspects of plant virology, which are widely quoted and acclaimed. He has established a strong school of molecular virology in the country, which has provided lead to our understanding of the complexities of the devastating diseases caused by begomo, ilar, poty and tospoviruses in horticultural and field crops. Prof. Varma’s researches have played a key role in developing technologies for the management of viral diseases, through conventional and biotechnological approaches.

Prof. Varma is a Fellow of Indian National Science Academy National Academy of Sciences, India, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (Founder Fellow). Indian Phytopathological Society and Indian Virology Society. He was the President. Agricultural Sciences, Indian Science Congress (1988-89), Vice-President, Indian Virology Society (1990-92), Founder Secretary, National Academy of Agricultural   Sciences (1990 98), President.   Biological Sciences, National Academy of  Sciences, India (1993), Secretary General, International Society of Plant Pathology (1993-98), Vice-President. International Congress of Plant Pathology, Edinburgh (1998), President, Indian Phytopathological Society (1998 99), Vice-President. International Society for Plant Pathology (1998-2003). Vice· President. Indian National Science Academy (2005 2007). Chair, ICSU Regional Committee for Asia and the Pacific (2006-2008). and currently he is Chair, National Committee of International Union of Microbiological societies and Chair, Apex Committee: Technology Vision 2020 for Agriculture and Fisheries. He was the Indian Editor for the   Journal of Phytopathology, Germany (1989 2005).  He was the Chief Editor of Indian Phytopathology from 1992-1994; he is the Chief Editor of NAAS Journal (2011 onwards) and he has served on the editorial board of many science journals.  In recognition of his contributions to science Prof. Varma has been honored with several prestigious awards like the VASVIK  and Om Prakash Bhasin Awards for Science and Technology, and Millennium Plaque of Honor Award of the Indian Science Congress Association; PNASF Gold Medal Award, 2009; INSA Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Medal, 2010; IPS Prof. A.P. Misra Lifetime Achievement Award, 2011; NASI B.P. Pal Memorial Lecture Award, 2013